Just a little word of warning to anyone that receives an email from a company calling themselves “World Company Directory”. This looks very much like another scam we reported on recently, the European City Guide Scam. We received an email from worldcompanydirectory.com today, and the email went like this:
Madam/Sir.
In order to have your company inserted into the registry of World Company Directory for 2009/2010, please print, complete and return the enclosed form (PDF file) to the following address:
WORLD COMPANY DIRECTORY
100 Pall Mall – St. James
London SW1Y 5NQ
United Kingdomemail: register@worldcompanydirectory.com
FAX: ++44 207 321 3738
Updating is free of charge!
Please don’t even think about filling in this form and returning it. It’s a nasty attempt to get you to sign-up, unwillingly for an annual subscription charge of €980. The small print clearly states:
I HEREBY ORDER A SUBSCRIPTION WITH SERVICE PROVIDER WORLD COMPANY DIRECTORY LTD. I WILL HAVE AN
ENTRY INTO ITS DATABASE FOR THREE YEARS. THE PRICE PER YEAR IS EUR 980.
Avoid at all costs or pay the price!!!


#1 by Spencer at November 22nd, 2009
| Quote
Just received the email, thanks for getting this page together … saves us all a lot of time.
#2 by Jane at February 1st, 2010
| Quote
Just received an email from World Company Directory – 1st February 2010. Still £980!
Definitely one to avoid!
#3 by Rita at March 16th, 2010
| Quote
Is it possible to advise the Internet people who are letting site exist and get them to close down World company Directory site. Does any one know how this could be done?